1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Finger/Hand fatigue?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by dontpoll, Oct 2, 2006.

1. dontpoll

dontpoll

Jun 22, 2006
    I've been playing bass for about 7 months..but I still get noticable finger/hand fatigue in my left hand (fretting hand). I notice this especially when I play at lower frets, probably because you need to stretch your fingers more down there..

Are there any tips to improve this? Simply practice more? Or is my technique bad?

2. ric1312

ric1312 Inactive

Apr 16, 2006
    chicago, IL.
    Ya practice. But, I'd like to know how hard are you pressing down on the strings? I've only been seriously playing probably twice as long as you. I got over most of my soreness just by relaxing and only using the least amount of finger pressure nessasarry.

Also, do not arch the wrist if you can help it. Makes everything harder to do.

When I find myself playing too hard I try to think of my hand as very relaxing or even sloppy, just to get the muscles that aren't needed to let go.

Also, try to use very little pressure with your supporting thumb.

Also, make sure you do a warmup that used all the fingers. The usual thing is 1,2,3,4. 4,3,2,1 up and down the fretboard relaxed both slow and fast. then go to scales and harder things.

and last but not least if you lift weights or do a physical job laboring job you will probably have to stretch more. I find it much easier to play fluid and fast on days I don't lift.

you can also try soaking your hands in hot water before you play to warm them up, I do this a lot when I'm lifting and it happens to be cold out.

3. steveb98

steveb98 [acct disabled - multiple aliases]

Mar 15, 2006
    Venice, CA
    Good stretch exercises are good, but over stretching can cause damage.