1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

finger hardness

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Asa Samuel, Jun 21, 2007.

1. i guess this goes in here, not sure.

is there anything to make the tips of your fingers harder?
    or at least tougher?
    i once heard dipping them in vinegar helps but i was wondering if it does actually work?

2. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland

Yes !! Playing the bass :)

I've heard of people using methylated spirits and such like but IMO there is no substitute for playing to toughen the fingers.

3. i have been playing for nearly 2 years now and my fingers still aint toughened up =[

thats why i am looking for something else.

4. Do you get blisters and swelling?

I used to for years, the drummer taught me his trick - use a pin to pop the blister and drain then use a lighter to burn the already dead skin.

sounds pretty messed up but it works well.

Tough fingers ain't all that - at the advice of a female bass player I have started using hand cream every day to keep my fingers softer. No more Calluses and have never looked back.

5. Fishbrain

Fishbrain

Dec 8, 2000
    England, Liverpool
    Endorsing Artist: Warwick Bass and Amp
    my fingers now are hard but smooth, if they do blister its underneath the hard skin. i hardly ever have my fingers falling apart anymore. for about two years though they were constantly shredded, not to the extent of bleeding! but bad ripped blisters. u wanna do what i did, buy i **** bass amp so u can hardly hear yourself, join a metal band with a really loud drummer and guitarist and try your best to be heard, a few hours at a go a few nights a week. hard fingers in no time.

6. jackcregg

jackcregg Guest

Feb 25, 2007
    Im surprised at this!

After 2 years your getting blisters???