Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

finger injuries and bass playing...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by thathatman, Mar 21, 2003.

1. thathatman

thathatman

Sep 17, 2002
    La Mirada, CA
    Several years before I started playing bass, I got a portion of my left hand ring finger cut off. The resulting stub is misshapen and gimpy. It has no fat pad on the tip, so it is more difficult to put good pressure on the string. I have no feeling on the tip of it. And yet, despite all this, I still play bass.
    Anyone have anything like this happen? Any advice for working through the gimpiness?

2. You could always pull a Tony Iommi and get a cap thing made to put on the end of your finger, it seemed to work for him.

Although it's not the same extent as your injury, I've broken just about every finger on my hand through various sports injuries (basketball, soccer goalie) so my flexibility is not what it should be, but it's the same as any other obstacle really for me - just need to practice more until you get used to it.

3. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    Not as bad as either of your injuries, yet.....

Im a diabetic, so I do about 4-5 blood test a day and my finger tips are all torn up from this. I have lost all feeling in my finger tips from this and have developed large thick callouses, which actually helps me play longer with less fatigue.

What can be a problem though is that with some diabetics blood flow problems develop in the extremities. Though its legs and feet that usually develop most problems, sometimes the hands can have problems and need to be amputated. Im just hopping(sp?) that isnt the case.

Peace
    Nick