Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Finger nails

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Skel, Mar 6, 2006.

1. Skel

Skel

Jun 19, 2005
    Boulder, Colorado
    I'm still a rookie when it comes to finger style playing. I have found that my finger nails need to be cut very short, and kept that way, or else I get a nasty "clicky" sound. Is this because my technique just isn't that good yet, or are there veteran finger style players here that need to have their finger nails really short like I do?

Skel

2. I'm certainly no veteran, but I've got to keep em real short too. Actually I keep some nail clippers with all my bass stuff.

3. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    Yes-yes.

I keep a 'Diamond Deb' file in my glovebox. If I don't use it for maybe three or four days, my nails are TOO LONG to get good tone!

I also try to remember to use use a greasy hand cream once a day (I forget exactly what it is, but it's made by Mary Kay, and it looks like orange axle grease) - usually just on my finger tips, back over the whole nail, and to the first knuckle. I've run into problems before with getting cracked or flaking skin on my plucking fingers, and then they'll hang-up on the strings a little! I also don't like to get little hangnails on the sides, and the cream seems to take care of that too.

In fact - over the years I've pushed-back the 'quick', so that the nails on my three plucking fingers are noticeably shorter than than on my fretting hand (more tip; less nail).

Joe

4. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

I like to keep them short. If they get too long, I have to adjust my fingerstyle technique in order to sound the same.

5. Just the opposite for me. I use my nails, and when they get too short, I'm unhappy. The optimal length gives me a nice ability to switch between a clicky-pick type atttack or all flesh for rounder tone.