1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

finger strengthening devices

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by richardjones89, Jun 23, 2007.

1. richardjones89

richardjones89

Jun 6, 2007
    i have a gripmaster which help you to build up strength in each of your fingers individually. does this actually help at all in playing? ive read up on the net and it seems that strength devices are pointless :S

2. its only really usefull if your a kid, as your hands dont have the strength to deal with it all properly yet, apart from that theres not much point.

3. Poop-Loops

Poop-Loops Inactive

Mar 3, 2006
    Auburn, Washington
    Do some pull ups.

Weight lifting in general is good.

4. ErikP.Bass

ErikP.Bass Supporting Member

Nov 23, 2004
    Great technique is developed with "precision" not "strength". IMHO. :smug:

5. richardjones89

richardjones89

Jun 6, 2007
    yes yes i agre with you all :p

im 17 and feel that my finger dexterety is somewhat lacking flexibility. i imagine that finger strengthening devices do just that, but practicing on bass improves dexterety. i will do just that! :D

however something that came of concern to me was this. sure people say that extra strength in fingers would slow you down, but when pressing down on the strings, wouldnt more strength rely on less energy, thus giving the player a more flexible approach and more control over the bass fretpoard?

6. Thunder Pulse

Thunder Pulse

May 12, 2007
    You're thinking about it too much, strength won't slow you down.

7. John Wentzien

John Wentzien

Jun 25, 2007
    Elberta, AL
    Artist:TC Electronic RH450 bass system (original test-pilot)
    Some of those devices can give you carpal tunnel syndrome ---if you over-do it.

8. Sarbecue Boss

Sarbecue Boss

Jul 9, 2006
    +1