Finger technique ?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by DeFeCT, May 7, 2004.

1. DeFeCT

May 7, 2004
    Hi all. I started playing bass for about 3 month ago or so and started with a pic, but i want to play finger-style instead, its going ok i guess, but the band complains about the sound, i dont get that distinct sound when i play, i mean it almost float together making a constant noise instead of a distinct sound you get when you play with pic. I thought i was only a training thing but im not sure anymore :meh: .

Anybody who have any tips on how to make it sound ok or should i go back to pic ? I really want to play fingerstyle....

Note: this only happens when i play multiple time on the same string, no problem with only one stroke. i use my index finger and my middle finger
  2. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    What kind of music are you playing? If you're playing punk or fast metal, I'd reccomend using a pick for it just because you do get a very distinct sound that can help cut through the rest of the band. That said, it's still very possible to get a distinct sound with hands, but I'll elabourate in my second period spare. Off to school I go!
  3. DeFeCT

May 7, 2004
    Well, we play covers at the moment, from rock to pop, what i mean with constant noise is that you dont hear every stroke on the string, but i know its possible to do but its very hard to play distinct and still keep the tempo up, so i guess its only training training training =)
  4. If I were you I wouldn't try and limit myself to just one playing style. Playing fingerstyle produces a different tone than playing with a pick but you have to decide which tone fits better with the song. Usually heavy and fast music lends itself better to the pick tone. Although, if you are playing covers, it is usually a good bet to play the same way as the bassist on the original recording played it.