Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

finger technique

Discussion in 'Ask Mike Watt [Archived]' started by jack knife, May 31, 2002.

1. jack knife

jack knife

May 30, 2002
    Pittsburgh, PA
    :confused:

I've only been playing bass for about a year. I've always plucked the strings of my bass with my thumb and pointer finger. I always see people using their pointer and middle finger to pluck the strings. Is what I'm doing considered "wrong"? It was the way I started playing when I first picked up a bass, and I'm afraid it's pretty ingrained into me at this point. It just feels really natural for me to play that way. Is there any great advantage to plucking the strings with pointer and middle finger as opposed to using my thumb and pointer finger?

2. I've seen guys playing astonishing things using thumb and index-finger, but I never heard the tone I really love by them. (Stop, I've heard Miller playing this way while he muted the strings with his wrist full-time, gettin a cool double-bass-sound this way)...
    I'd suggest to learn both styles, but from my experience the tone gets fatter when played by index- and middle finger. -Pastorius-like-funky-nosy near the bridge and full-warm-rich near the neck.
    And I guess, after you managed this, you'll find yourself in need to use this technique MORE OFTEN than the other.

My vote goes to "Learn how to learn"!
    So, everytime you see that you can't do something, -learn it!
    (I'd just like to know where to begin -every day!)

3. bcarll

bcarll

Oct 16, 2001