Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

fingering

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by ade, Mar 9, 2001.

1. ade

ade

Aug 3, 2000
    I've been playing jazz on the double bass on and off for many years, self taught. I can't keep up with the fluid technique that has been developed in the upper register above G. The use of the thumb and pointing the fingers downward and across the strings... I point my fingers across the strings and have trouble sustaining notes as I reach across the D string. Aside from going to a qualified instructor can anyone out there teach an old dog some new tricks.
    ade

2. dhosek

dhosek

May 25, 2000
    Los Angeles, CA
    Spending some time with a teacher will help.

Another thing that I've found that's helped me really develop strength (and intonation) in thumb position is to play two octave scales up each of the strings (use a drone, as discussed in the intonation while descending thread).

There are thumb position exercises in Simandl 2 along with bunches of classical repertoire, although I've not particularly felt compelled to pick it up myself.

-dh

3. acousticdave

acousticdave

Dec 29, 2000
    starting with thumb position, just do long tones on that area at the g octave, work on 3 and 4 note phases between g and c on g string. you have to work from your shoulder- just like the lower positions. then you can work on the d string and combine. the a etc. you have to build the muscle and the muscle memory so relax and try to get each note to sound GOOD. then you connect it by doing arpeggios and scales up down and all around.

4. ade

ade

Aug 3, 2000