Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fingering

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by CluelessSi, Aug 13, 2002.

1. CluelessSi

CluelessSi

Aug 13, 2002
    I am a beginner bass player, I played the violin before. My teacher is an upright player so he suggested the finger of 1-23-4 with 3 and 4 down at same time and 1 and 2 seperatly... so 1....2....34

I am wondering if that is a good method or should i try to do 1-2-3-4, my 4th finger is weak though my 3rd finger is fine in playing it's own fret. just wondienr what is better in long run, maybe if I were to play upright, but prolly not. And is it fsater one way or the other?

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    I use 1-2-3-4 most of the time, but the best of both worlds is to use upright fingering in the lower positions and 1-2-3-4 higher up the neck.

3. CluelessSi

CluelessSi

Aug 13, 2002
    what do u mean by lower and higher?
    (higher meaning near the other hand? cause teacher told me that he does 1-23-4 on the neck near the top, near the tuning knobs and 1-2-3-4 on bottom near the right hand) i am thinking of doing that but not sure the usage of the fourth finger strecth is used often

4. JMX

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    I meant closer to the headstock (lower frets/register - DB fingering) and closer to the body (higher frets/register - 1-2-3-4 fingering).

5. My teacher does that too. But thats becasue he is really a DB player. I personally think you should try and get the pinky strong enough to avoid that on BG. I would avoid avoiding things becasue they are hard in the beginning. If you learn how to play with all 4 fingers and then make an informed personal decision to play like a DB player then you should do it. But I would stay away from making that type of decision becasue your pinky is weak.

Later -
    K.

6. JMX

Sep 4, 2000