Fingerpicking technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by GSR200B_bassist, Dec 1, 2019.

1. GSR200B_bassist

GSR200B_bassist

Mar 23, 2019
    England
    Hi all,

I've been playing for about 3/4 years now and recently have noticed a bad habit that's emerged from my playing.

I've always tried to use the floating thumb technique, but the problem I've noticed is that my right hand seems to tilt towards the headstock, so the back of my hand is facing towards the neck. This places my fingers at different levels which makes it hard to maintain a straight rhythm - often I find I can't help but make a 'swing' kind of rhythm.

It's been fine up until now but I feel like it's limiting my speed and general playing ability, so any tips for getting rid of this habit and improving my technique?

Thanks,
    Katie H

2. Matty Koff

Matty Koff

Aug 21, 2014
    Tennessee
    Slow down what ever you're trying to play and any limitations caused by technique should make themselves readily apparent. Use a metronome, or a simple drum backing track..but preferably something you can slow down/speed up at will. Slow down to like 60 bpm focusing on playing what you're trying to play as perfectly as you can. If it turns out you need to adjust how you rest your plucking hand, make that your focus, even at slow tempos. Even if it's just 15-20 minutes at a time focus on resting your hand in a more comfortable position.

Afterawhile it will become muscle memory.

Slowing down is the best advice I've ever gotten. It lets you examine everything a lot easier..and if I am making some kind of mistake, it's much easier to work on playing it right at a slow tempo. When you can play it 4 times in a row perfectly at a slow tempo, bump up the tempo.. 4 times at that tempo, speed it up again until you're playing at the correct tempo, whether that's predetermined or something you're feeling in a creative process.