fingers or pick?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by emissary, Jan 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emissary

Jan 22, 2005
    i've just started playing bass but i've been playing guitar for about 2 years....should i use my fingers or pick...and what's the deal with this whole free stroke and rest stroke thing?...
  2. Funkize you

Funkize you Guest

Nov 4, 2003
    Westminster Ca.
    Well, To answer the question of Finger's or Pick, Thats up to whats comfortable to you, BUT if you ask me.... There is NO choice but Fingerstyle.

A Rest Stroke is when you Finger pick the G string then rest it on the D string or plucking any string and resting on the string below. If you have something small on your desk, put your finger on the endge of it, then pushe down to where your finger would slip off and land on the actual Desk... Think of that is your finger going from one string and resting/Muting another and thats about it.
  3. thisSNsucks

Dec 19, 2004
    Yonkers, NY
    learn to play with ur fingers and with a pick, i switch between to two depending on the sound i want, theres nothing wrong with having an extra picking technique under ur belt
  4. I completely agree with the above statement, though I will only endorse fingerstyle with my own experiences. There is only one thing that I know that the pick can do better, and no, it is NOT speed. As stated above, it is to get a particular sound that only it can get. With fingers, you can go faster, unleash a wider variety of sounds, not have to worry about a pick, and be able to play several notes at once or many spread-out pitch-wise notes very close together in time.
  5. DaemonBass

Mar 29, 2004
    Sacramento, CA