Fingerstyle aggression and massive confusion

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by secretdonkey, Feb 20, 2003.

1. secretdonkey

Oct 9, 2002
    Austin, TX
    I have to confess that although I've been playing for many years, it's only quite recently (thanks in no small part to discovering Talkbass) that I've much considered how my technique might be similar or different to other players. I simply played, hardly ever crossing paths with another bassist whose opinion I'd value.

Now that I've crawled out of my cave, I see myself as playing with a higher action than most (not just awfully high, mind you), due to a fairly aggressive right hand on fingerstyle. I simply set my strings up so that I can avoid fret buzz unless I am really trying to get a buzzed-out note (which certainly has it's place). I think I use a fairly bright tone out of my amp, that reveals the slightest hint of buzz, and this may be part of it.

In any event, I was at a music store the other day, told the bass guy that I was looking for a nice J-style bass, and he puts a Lakland Joe Osbourn in my hands. Very nice bass, but I felt like a bull in a China shop - I had to try really hard to play it without buzz, enough so to take the fun out of playing the thing.

Okay, so I've got this complex now that I'm just a right hand brute. I'm not about to soften up my attack up by very much, I'm happy with my approach, but I'm still trying to understand how my approach compares with that of other players. The thing that is really throwing me for a loop at the moment is the fact that I get the impression that string-breaking is reasonably common on bass. I have only broken a string one time in my entire playing career - and that was one that had been boiled and put back on the bass. I figure that if I'm THAT much more agressive than most guys, I'd be breaking strings, at least occasionally.