Fingerstyle Technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by andytheashton, Jul 8, 2008.

1. andytheashton

andytheashton

Oct 31, 2007
    Hi people,

This is the first time I've posted a thread (I think) and I want some advice from some people who know what they're talking about.

I've been playing bass for about 10/11 years now and I'd say I'm pretty accomplished. I can get by in almost any musical situation. The advice I want is to improve my right hand picking technique, as right now it's pretty good (quite fast, accurate and I create a pretty good sound), but I want to go to the next level now.

What sort of exercises do the more advanced players on here use to improve/keep their technique on top form?

Thanks in advance
    Andy

2. Spikeh

Spikeh Sex Strings

I'm presuming you practice regularly anyway?

The best way to get your technique down (for both hands) is simply practice drills and scales... but concentrate on what each finger is doing and listen to the sound you're creating with each one. For example, your first and second fingers may have different attack power - one thing I suffered from before my teacher pointed it out.

It's a case of practicing from soft, to hard, muted, to open etc... making sure that your fingers do exactly what you intend them to do. Control is the key.

The same goes for any technique - slap, harmonics, tapping etc... the dynamics of your playing make a big difference to your sound.

I'm probably not as good as you on bass (I've only been playing for 4 or so years), but take the advice anyway... it's one of the things my teacher preaches to me, and she's been playing as a session bassist all over the world for many, many years. Some of the things she can do are amazing... so fluid, accurate and beautiful... complete control over her instrument.

3. andytheashton

andytheashton

Oct 31, 2007
    Hey mate, it doesn't matter how long someone's been playing. To me, if it's good advice, then it's good advice.