Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bassline_Delux, Jan 1, 2004.

1. cb56

Jul 2, 2000
    Central Illinois
    I played through one of those in a music store and thought it sounded great. I'd say in perfect condition $350 USD tops. you do the math
  2. They are very loud amps. As much power as you'll ever need, unless you're pushing an Acme or something equally inefficient. The tone is decent, but somewhat bland. I've got a Nitrobass (same preamp section, smaller power amp) and I don't even like to use it without my Sansamp BDDI... but I'm digressing.
  3. The 0x

The 0x

Aug 24, 2003
    Timonium, MD
    Fairly uncolored. Doesn't really sound like anything.

And delete your 2 other posts. :mad:
  4. Sorry, I'm new to ths board, I didn't realise I could delete them. (They were an accident..).

So, assuming I love the sound of my baby(bass), then that should be alright?
  5. Some brands will get a wide spectrum of opinions, Peavey (or even Ampeg) among them.

Peavey, for some reason, has never gotten a reputation for creating or adding tone. I guess that's what the "bland" means. But is that necessarily bad? I personally don't have any problem with the tone I've gotten from Peavey products. And I've found Peavey to be very reliable, with good customer service. (Even people that hate the Peavey sound will concede that their gear is virtually indestructable.)

In the big scheme of things, I think "bland" may even be good. For bar gigs, especially, too much warmth could muddy the mix. What sounds good to the bass player on stage, may sound lousy out in the audience. I've seen plenty of bands with Peavey combos, and there was more than enough thump to keep the crowd dancing.

Is it a sound that you may want to record with? Well, certainly it's not an old Ampeg Portaflex, but so what.
  6. Arthur Poon

Arthur Poon

Jul 13, 2003