Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

First all acoustic gig!!

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Tim Cole, Aug 3, 2003.

1. Tim Cole

Tim Cole

Jun 12, 2002
    Findlay, Ohio
    I did my first all-acoustic (except for bass) gig tonight, what a blast.

I recently joined up with a local band, who is actully 2 bands in one. The electric side is going to be doing newer, somewhat lighter rock, 80's era dance tunes, some funk/disco, and a bit of tasteful classic rock. The acoustic side which is 3 guitars, 3 singers, and me on the low end.

Tonight we did our first gig, at an upscale coffee house (the $100k and up club). I have lots of experience in the rock bands I've been in doing clubs, but this was something totally different. Number one, the people that were there were there to hear music, not to get drunk/laid ect. Every seat in the house was taken, and the response was great! Even in the middle of the songs when the guys would nail a 3 part harmony vocal, the crowd would go nuts!

For this gig, all I took was my Sterling, my sansamp BDDI, cables, ect. I was a little worried about the sterling being a little too rude, but it behaved very nicely, and had a great sound dialed in with the sansamp. I suppose the dead strings I hate may have attributed to it. I am also thinking of looking into an EUB for the acoustic set as well.

One of the best things about playing high scale coffee house gigs? First off, it paid well, considering we have no overhead on it, but the fact it closes at 10, and allows time to go check out the other fishing ponds is nice as well. One of the guys and I went to a couple clubs afterwards, and had quite a few people that caught the set, stop us to say how much they enjoyed it.....what a feeling!