1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

First amp with effects loop

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BCRichguy, Apr 6, 2018.

1. BCRichguy

BCRichguy

Jan 2, 2018
    Ok, so I have a Orange crush 100 and it has a send and return effects loop in the back. I never really got too into pedals and this is my first time with an amp with a loop and I just so happend to score a 70s Morley Tel-Ray power wah boost too cheap to pass up and am now seriously considering a joyo vintage overdrive for the tube screamer mimic. My Orange already has a blended gain channel that does all I need hence why I haven't used pedals (except the orange fs-1 footswitch for the gain channel).
    My Question is this:
    When I get the pedals here, what is the proper way to plug into the effects loop? I know its a bit of a "newbie" question...its just a situation I've not had come up yet and the manual is really a single sided list of specs...I'm sure I'd figure it out quick enough, but why not ask and know for sure? Thanks everyone in advance for not laughing at me and all the help!

2. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Supporting Member

Pedals are for your bass signal. The effects loop is for rack mounted gear. It has to do with the impedence of the gear.

3. Al Kraft

Al Kraft Supporting Member

May 2, 2016
    Northern Virginia