1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

first band/ gig advice

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by pandaman37, Sep 30, 2010.

1. pandaman37

pandaman37 Inactive

Sep 17, 2009
    Clovis, CA
    well i am but a novice, been playing for a year, and ive jammed with a few people, and not to be mean but only one or two were any good, the rest didnt play or practice too often, werent serious etc etc.....
    anywho, i was wondering if anyone had any stories about their first band or gig, and maybe offer a little advice to a young'in such as myself.
    i suppose i should tell you off the bat cos i get the feeling someones gonna ask, i play a squier jazz, just got the neck fixed and it plays FANTASTIC.. i practice every day for at least an hour, self taught but now im taking a music theory class at a different high school, and i decided to try and teach myself a little guitar (i spose it cant hurt..). im open to many styles of music, but funk/jazz is my true passion (i know, cliche, sorry). im very serious and dedicated to finding a musical career, i honestly dont care if i get famous, im just sick of playing along to itunes, i want to play for people and really create something.
    im hoping im qualified to join a legitimate band, or at least on the track to doing so, any input would be deeply appreciated, thanks

2. klokker

klokker

Jan 7, 2009
    Steele City, NE
    Well, my story is that I just answered ads and did a lot of "auditions" at the beginning. I just got out there.

I was recommended for the gig I have now by a guy that checked me out for a band he was trying to form even though it fell apart before it even started.