1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

First band! Name/ covers?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by WyrdoBass, Aug 29, 2008.

1. I finally started my first band! The current roster is a lead gui**** (of 2 years) a rythm guitarist (of 2 months) and a singer.Still need drummer.We are currently calling ourselves Inside Joke (which narrowly won over The AppleJackasses, ditched cuz of "appropriateness") and plan to play punk-alt originals w/ some punk/ classic rock covers.
    Im the pro temp leader while we work out schedules.

What do you think of the name. and do you have any suggestions for good/easy covers in the aforementioned genres?

2. me first and the gimme gimmes

3. yamaha

yamaha

Apr 7, 2006
    Montreal
    Try to see as many cover bands that basically do the same material as you, and see what the crowd reaction is.

Ive been playing for about 20 years, and we still pick up the ''oh man we gotta do this one, everyone loves it'' songs, try them live, and get polite applause. While we also try some that we reluctantly learned, and they are way more fun to play than we thought, and crowds love them.

There are so many songs out there, you should be able to learn 100 songs, that are fun to play, that most people love, and that are technically at your level. Now the trick question is, what are those 100 songs.

4. Green Day, Blink 182, and the Ramones all have plenty of easy to learn punk songs that should go over with a crowd.

Inside Joke is a decent name...but the older I get, I try to stay away from being so self-deprecating.

5. baalroo

baalroo

Mar 24, 2008
    Wichita, KS
    Inside Joke is actually a pretty good name for a young punk cover band. For a good punk crowd reaction definitely cover some Ramones, Sex Pistols, Social Distortion, NOFX, Bad Religion, and Pennywise. All easy bands to cover and most people know their stuff.