Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

first bass and dunno what to buy?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by basschic, Nov 19, 2000.

1. basschic

basschic

Nov 19, 2000
    Hi I have been learning how to play bass for about 2 months now and I am looking to buy a bass. I have been learning on a 5 string at school, but I am undecided if I should buy a 4 or 5 string and what brands I should check out and what a decent price would be?? I am looking to play punk and metal music as well.

thanks
    basschic

2. Well, Im glad to see there are other people who like punk. I would recommend a 4. I play punk. And a 4. But thats just me. Id check out Fender P bass, cuz they sound good and thats what a lot of punk bands play. You can get a Squier for $150-200-ish, Mexican Fender for $300-ish and American Fender for $900-ish if you buy new.

3. 311 fan

311 fan

Sep 24, 2000
    La Verne, CA
    Get an Ibanez GSR 200. They rock. Their great for punk and metal.

4. if you want to get a bass that will last you a long time, get a fender mexican p bass (or j, but p's are better in my opinion then jazzes for punk and metal). If you want the bass for cheap, buy it used. BUt dont get an ibanez, i have yet to find one i liked, they all have crappy electronics and sound real bad to me.

5. Tsal

Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    As you wish, Angus. Yamaha? I'm quite sure I don't own one :( The BBG5-models are inexpensive and quite nice. And look nice too. Between fourer and fiver, pick one you like.
    There's really no reason why you should not.

6. Oysterman

Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Sweden
    The Yamaha or Ibanez doesn't really ring "punk" to me...
    I personally picture a punk bassist with a Squier P-bass and lots of stickers on it. Are you (a) "punk" ;) or do you just play the music?