1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)
  2. Because Photobucket has chosen to in effect "take down" everyone's photos (unless you pay them), we have extended post edit time in the Luthier's Corner to UNLIMITED.  If you used photobucket and happen to still have your images of builds, you can go back and fix as many of your posts as far back as you wish.

Note that TalkBass will host unlimited attachments for you, all the time, for free ;)  Just hit that "Upload a File" button.  You are also free to use our Media Gallery if you want a place to create albums, organize photos, etc :)

First bass build and on the cheap. (Fretless Fender-ish Jazz)

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Macho McHorse, Nov 5, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Hey all I'm a broke student who wants a fretless jazz bass.
    So this summer I've decided to build my own using left over parts from my upgraded Highway one. I've never built any musical instruments before so Im just gong to bluff my way through it. Heres what I've done so far:

For the body I've used an old bed headboard that belonged to my grandad (He reckons it's at least 60 years old). I'm not sure what the wood is but its probably some New Zealand native.

upload_2015-11-6_14-11-34.

I made a jig out of scrap wood from designs I got off the net:
    upload_2015-11-6_14-12-38.

Rough shaping was done using a bandsaw and routing using a hand router and jig for the cavities with a 1/4" flush trim bit (I think), a hole saw to cut the radius' in the cutaways and the edges with the biggest flush trim round-over bit I could find:

upload_2015-11-6_14-14-38.