Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

First Bass Influence

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by SockMonkey, Dec 17, 2001.

1. SockMonkey

SockMonkey

Oct 26, 2001
    Irvine, CA
    Ive been playing bass seriously only for about 2 years now(4 on and off) and i was just wondering something, who or what made you start. Honestly
    (guards face from flying objects) Mark Hoppus is the reason i started playing bass, after hearing a copy of their demo and the song Carousel i wanted to know what exactly what played the intro. I had my friend teach it to me on his bass and after that i was hooked. Now i enjoy Wooten, Jaco, Duck Dunn and many other great bassists, i just thought it was funny that the guy everyone loves to hate was my first influence.

2. cordova

cordova

Oct 24, 2001
    Edmonton
    The first band that really got me interested in playing music was the Offspring. I had played guitar for about 8 years, and always jammed to Offspring cd's. Then, wanting to start a band, I picked up a bass and started learning Greg K's bass lines, and was hooked.

Now I'm into Justin Chancellor of Tool, and others as well.

But Greg K pretty much got me started.

3. kirbywrx

kirbywrx formerly James Hetfield

Jul 27, 2000
    Melbourne, Australia.
    There are heaps of thread like this but mine are
    Cliff Burton, Jason Newstead and thats about all i can remember just sitting here thinkin about it

4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Geddy Lee. Later on, guys like Jamerson and McCartney.

5. I decided that I wanted to play bass when I was about 14 years old. I thought Nikki Sixx and Motley Crue were the coolest thing on Earth. I didn't even know what the difference between a bass and a guitar was! :eek: