First build - premade neck or not?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by RobertPaulson, Jan 24, 2009.

1. RobertPaulson

RobertPaulson

Dec 11, 2008
    Des Moines
    I've been lurking here for awhile and i think it's time to jump into a build. I have some basic woodworking experience, but not a whole lot. I also have the basic tools, but nothing specialized. In reading all of the how-to's and build threads the thing that has me the most scared is building the neck. I'm toying with the idea of just doing a body first and and buying a warmoth neck and using that. What would you guys recommend for a first project?

2. Stone Age

Stone Age

Apr 13, 2008
    Connecticut
    Just go for it. Worst you could do is screw it up. That's what I told myself anyway.

The only "special" tool I use is a straight spokeshave. It was less than 30 bucks.

3. jordan_frerichs

jordan_frerichs

Jan 20, 2008
    Nebraska