First double bass lesson...a bust??

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by mchildree, Apr 19, 2001.

1. mchildree

mchildree Supporting Member

Sep 4, 2000
    Somebody give me some opinions here: I had my first lesson on double bass tonight with a teacher who plays in our local symphony and in many Atlanta symphonic shows, and also teaches upright bass in our University. She's was very pleasant, and made me pretty comfortable but she really didn't have much to offer me this evening. I told her I'd been playing electric bass for a long time and knew a bit of theory but that I was a rank beginner on double bass. I expected at least quite a bit of technique correction prior to getting into the theory bit, but she watched me play and said simply "you're doing fine", and only suggested I raise the bass a bit and practice for short periods with my left thumb taped down. She didn't seem to have any specific methods she'd want me to start on. Is this common? It almost seemed like some sort of initial consultation instead of a lesson. Maybe most of her students are much further along in their reading skills (mine stink!), and theoritical knowledge and she really didn't know where to start with me, or she was deciding where to start. She told me I could get a bow "if I wanted to, but it's ok if I don't" and threw out a couple of possibilities for books to work from. All in all, I guess I feel that too much is left for me to decide, and I don't feel qualified to make those decisions. She won't be available again for almost a month, so I have lots of time to work on it. She's the only game in town as far as DB teachers go. Am I expecting too much or something?
  2. Hmmm, it's kind of hard to give an opinion on this, as first lessons are always tough. After my first lesson, I almost had To change my underwear! :oops:
    I am surprised, though, that she didn't make any corrections on you stance or your hand position,