1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

First double bass purchase?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Kindofblue, Oct 10, 2010.

1. Kindofblue

Kindofblue

Oct 13, 2008
    Canada
    Hey everyone,

I have been playing electric bass for 6 years and Double Bass for the last year and a half. In the past year I was renting my double bass from Long and Mcquade (Canadian version of GC?) and with the steep prices of their mediocore made house brand Upright Basses, it does not seem practical to buy one from them let a lone the additional things I would need to get done (adjustable bridge,pickup, new strings, set up etc) I am on a budget and am practicing double bass but not gigging as much on double bass although, I do plan to because I am planning on playing both styles of basses.

Have any of you played a Palatino Electric Upright Bass? My bass teacher told me to steer clear of most electric basses except the Yamaha Silent Bass which is again out of my price range. I am wondering what everyones opinion is on the Palatino and if it is able to be played with a bow? I tried a Dean upright bass and it was not really possible to play acro.

I would like to hear everyones opinion on this and its something I would be playing for the next two years until I am studying music post secondary and by that time will purchase a 3/4 double bass.

Thanks a lot and I look forward to hearing everyones input!

2. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    Uhh boy. I would suggest that that you read the newb links here for a long time. No Palatino, no Silent bass. You're right about the Dean, it's useless.

More importantly... if you're planning on playing a double bass, stop looking at EUBs. Oranges and apples. Mercury and Pluto.

Take a big deep breath. Rent something playable for awhile. Read the links here and educate yourself.

3. fryBASS

fryBASS