1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

First Fender Jaguar or Geddy Lee?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by CypherA9, Oct 14, 2006.

1. Hi Guys,

Firtsly many apologies if this as been covered elsewhere, please don't shout :crying: .

I am looking to invest in my first fender bass but i am torn between the jaguar and geddy lee models, i love the tonal variation of the jaguar but i am a jazz bass kinda guy and the geddy lee just looks and apparently feels amazing.

I haven't played either so far so obviously i will be finding a shop to try them out before hand but if anybody as one or as tried one any advice would be greatly appreciated :help: .

I have been playing for 3 years now and i am practising slap bass and also tapping at the moment amongst other things so is either of these suitable for this kinda playing.

Also, i am in the UK so if anbody knows of any good sites to buy one from that would be great.

Thanks alot Guys/Gals.

2. Foamy

Foamy

Jun 26, 2006
    Sac Area
    I just bought a GL. It is a sweet bass. I don't slap, so I can't give a fair comment on that aspect. The shaved neck is so very nice to my touch.
    Cheers!

3. Apparantly the neck on the jaguar is pretty much the same as the Geddy, in which case, I'd go Jaguar

4. Foamy

Foamy

Jun 26, 2006
    Sac Area
    So, you se how this'll go....
    Geddy
    Jag
    Jag
    Jag
    Geddy
    Geddy
    Jag
    Geddy
    Geddy
    Don't get a Geddy
    Jag
    Don't get a Jag

then......go try them and get the one you prefer.

:)

5. Pennydreadful

Pennydreadful Goin out West

Jun 13, 2005
    Arlington, Texas
    Well, the Jag apparently has the same neck specs as the Geddy (thin C-shape, etc.). And the Jag really seems to be just a jazz bass with additional options. It also has the 70's bridge pickup placement, just like the Geddy.