First gig since last May...

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Sundogue, Mar 23, 2004.

1. Sundogue

Apr 26, 2001
    Wausau, WI
    I will be playing with my new band this coming weekend after not playing in a band since last May.

I had thought I was giving it up for good until this guitar player, who's playing I've admired for quite a long time, called me up one day and asked me to join his band.

This gig is an annual party for local musicians. A few hundred musicians show up for this event. I know quite a few and there are alot I've never met or heard of.

The thing is, I've been playing for 25 years now and I have never been nervous before a gig. I've felt the anxiousness before going onstage, but not really nervous. We are tight as a band, I know the tunes inside and out, and feel very comfortable with the band. Yet I am feeling nervous about this gig in a way I've never felt before.

Part of it is, I think, that some of my old bandmates from a band that dumped me will be there. To this day they still say that they had no problem with my playing, they only wanted their original bass player back when he expressed interest in rejoining them. It was a sudden boot, no warning, no communication...just let go. It has always given me a sick feeling when I think of it.

Anyway, now I've got this gig with probably the best guitar player around here, bar none...and I'm thinking perhaps that my nervousness has more to do with my old band and my desire to impress them, more than anything.

I'm thinking I should just have a couple of drinks (not to get drunk, just to chill out) and try to relax and enjoy the gig for what it is...a good time for all.

This is the weirdest feeling I've ever had before a gig...never experienced it before...and I would think, given my experience and age that I would be more "cool" about the whole deal. :)

Any thoughts?
  2. jondog

Mar 14, 2002
    NYC metro area