1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

First gig

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by T Man, Nov 8, 2006.

1. T Man

T Man

Oct 23, 2004
    So one of my many dreams finally came true this year. I was able to join a band. I've been playing bass for about four years and now, as a college sophomore, I finally get to play with other people (which is a great feeling).

Of course, the only reason I was able to do this was because the old bassist left to go to college in Louisiana (we're in Greenville, SC) and I was pretty much the only option for this band since we all go to the same college and there are only a handful of bassists here (most of whom are already in some type of band). The guys who were already members of the band wanted to just make things simple as well and have all of us on campus so practicing would be easier. Our guitarist is also new and he is very good (he's pretty sick actually; it's nuts).

I feel like they kind of took a gamble when they decided to take me on because I wasn't near as good at the end of freshman year as I am now. However, with a lot of encouragement from the drummer and singer, I progressed quite well over the summer.

Our first gig is Saturday at the Handlebar in Greenville, SC. We're opening for Need to Breathe, another band based out of South Carolina. We were promised at least 50 minutes and we have an eight song set:

41 - Dave Matthews
    Purple Haze - Jimi Hendrix
    Lie in Our Graves - Dave Matthews
    Take Me Out - Franz Ferdinand
    (Three originals of our own)
    Voodoo Child - Jimi Hendrix

Our guitarist is awesome at soloing, so we figured that we could shorten or stretch out his solos in Purple Haze and Voodoo Child in order to fit into our ~50 minutes.