1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

First Gigging Amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Handsome Dan, May 7, 2015.

1. TBer's, I am fairly new at playing the bass, I love it and practice every day. Recently I have been invited to jam with a few different musicians/bands looking for a bass player. Though I have not been formely invited to join any bands just yet there have been hints of it, (being invited back) and discussions of gigging. While I have a very nice bass that no doubt is capable of any gig (Musicman Stingray Classic) my currnet amp is a fender rumble 40. I know this amp is probably not that effiecient. I am looking for recommendations for a decent set up for small to medium venues. Not looking to spend more than around $800 us. I am sure most wills suggest the used gear route which I am definitely looking at. But my knowledge of amps ad gigging are very limited.
    Type of music and band I am looking to join would be mostly blues based rock/classic rock and what I would call "Hick-a-Billy"
    (is that a genre? I dont know) Thanks in advance for your knowledge and opions.
    Dan

2. There is a lot of good used gear on CL and GC/MM (and other commercial sites). Most of it is heavy solid state heads (lead sleds) and cabs (many with stressed drivers). Any thing Peavey is going to be reliable and offer at least serviceable tone. For the type of music and venue size you are interested in there are plenty of rigs within your budget. If weight is not an issue, and you would prefer better than serviceable tone, consider a GK 400RB, or GK Backline 600 head, and a 115 or 410 cab by Mesa, Genz Benz, or higher end GK. If weight and transportability are an issue, consider a new Fender Rumble 500 or Kustom KXB-500 head, and Fender Rumble 115 or GK CX-115 cab.

3. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2006