Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

First gigging stack.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BuiltByBlues, Jan 5, 2006.

1. I’ve been playing bass for a few years now and I’m getting to the point where I am ready to start gigging. I’m new at the amp thing because I’ve mainly focused on basses. Right now I have a little 50watt Peavey. I’m looking to upgrade to a full stack. What I want is a good quality amp with a good quality head. What I would really like is a 4x10 stack with a 15” for lows. I’ve heard that using different heads for the 4x10 stack and the 15” is a good idea for a cleaner sound. Tell me if that’s true or faults please. Also I would like to know if two 4x10 stacks would be better than a 4x10 and a 15”. I’m not picky about brands at all. What I’m picky about is sound. I want speakers that are good quality and a head with full and total control of tones and such. I want to spend under 1,600 if that’s at all possible. If you can list the gear you think is good and why. I’d like to get on my feet so I know what to look for. The sound I’m looking for is a low warm tone. A good example would be the eagles. Well I hope that’s not too much information or not enough. Thanks for looking.

2. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Whats the price range?

3. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    He said under $1600..

4. Crockettnj

Crockettnj

Sep 2, 2005
    North NJ
    just an idea, but how about a schro 210-12 with a used GK800rb (or terabouts) head?

should be in the $$$ range, and you can upgrade heads as needed/wanted.

portable and should be loud as hell. you may not ever need to change it too. i dunno.

5. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004