Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

First good bass to get?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jumpingbob, Jan 10, 2004.

1. jumpingbob

jumpingbob

Jan 10, 2004
    Louisville, KY
    I just started playing tabs and by ear about 6 monthes ago off and on with a rental bass. We bought it just to play around with, it was very cheap and poor quality and its a 3/4ths size.

Well Ive decided I want to get much more into playing bass, Ive taken some lessons and gotten a few songs down pretty good and love it, every song I hear now I try to find the bass line.

My instructor mentioned to me that I should probably get a full sized decent bass to continue to take lessons with for a couple years, ive looked and nothings really caught my eye and I was wondering what is a good rock/alternative music style 4 string bass for under 300. The Ibanez SRX-300 really caught my eye, its $249 new, nice to look at, and almost every review ive read has been positive.

Any suggestions / reviews of the srx300 from an owner?

Thanks!
    Ben

2. http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=51773&highlight=srx300

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=44220&highlight=srx300

I found these threads using the SEARCH function. It is very helpful for finding information on topics and basses that have been discussed before.

Personally, I'm not a fan of Ibanez, I had the GSR200 model and it was awful - I failed to get any sort of nice tone out of it, the neck bent, general flimsy construction.

If I had about $300, I'd go for a used Mexican Fender P or J bass, depending on what sound you're after. If you're after a rock sound, then either of those will be fine.