First Lefty URB strategy

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Bob Rogers, Feb 27, 2005.

1. Bob Rogers

Bob Rogers Left is Right

Feb 26, 2005
    Blacksburg, Virginia
    I've been playing electric bass for about 35 years (with keys and guitar thrown in occasionally). I play weekly with a church band and sit in regularly with various rock and country groups around town. (Math prof at VT as a day job.) A few nights ago I took the family to see a jazz sextet with Rufus Reid on bass. My mother was knocked out. (I was too.) "You have to get an upright! I'll buy it." So I decided to look since she was so enthusiastic. (The fact that she is willing to help with the funding is probably a motivating factor as well.) I would have bought one sooner, but I'm a lefty. I had been assuming I'd have to get one custom made. (The few times I've asked (years ago) I got pretty funny looks.) Now that I look around the internet I see that there are realistic possibilities. I'm now set on getting an URB with the goal of playing contemporary Christian, some country, rockabilly, and bluegrass, maybe a little jazz. (My jazz chops on electric leave a bit to be desired.)

I hit a lot of the links in the newbie set above and contacted Bob Gollihur and Bob Beerman. I had figured on getting a carved bass on the "buy once, cry once" philosophy, but after getting advice I'm pretty set on going for a good laminated bass. I figure that even if I get a higher quality carved bass in the future, I'll want to have a laminated bass to take to places where I'd be afraid to take a more delicate instrument.

I'm going to talk to Bob Beerman this week. He can get lefties from Engelhardt and Christopher. He also carries Sam Shen, but I don't know if they do lefty. Since I'd probably be using him for setup work, it seems like a good idea to buy my first bass from him and establish a relationship.

Anyway, any comments on this overall strategy and sugestions on lefty basses would be appreciated.