First neck through

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by SpankyPants, Jul 25, 2013.

1. SpankyPants

SpankyPants That's Mr. SpankyPants to you.

Aug 24, 2006
    Brooklyn, NY
    HALLO!

I'm building my first neck-through. Heck, I'm building my first solid body. I have a design sketched out in Rhino, and I'll be posting updates as I go along. It's supposed to be a violin-style body that has one side asymmetrically "stretched" forward.

My first question, though, is about setting a neck angle on a neck through. How necessary is it? I was figuring one way would be to shim the neck ~2˚ when I glue on the wings. Any better suggestions?

Disclaimer: Unlike many of you, I am not an engineer... Just wanted to let you know before I start to make a fool of myself.

Attached Files:

2. Interesting take on a classic shape! I was thinking of that neck through - neck angle problem on my next build, but I figured out, that because the body on the bass is only 32 mm thick, there will be an extra 6 mm on the neck before the fretboard (If I make the neck through part 38mm thick and plane the body portion level to the 32 mm wings). that way it doesn't matter if the bridge is high. What kind of a bridge are you gonna use?

3. Bruce Johnson

Bruce Johnson Commercial User

Feb 4, 2011
    Fillmore, CA
    Professional Luthier
    You can build a bass (neck thru or bolt on) with or without neck angle. It's your choice, and it mostly depends on what you think is comfortable to play. Some guys like the neck tilted back a few degrees because it keeps them from leaning forward as much with their left shoulder. Their back stays straighter and they are comfortable on stage for longer. I should mention that this is usually heard from guys with larger waistlines. Others disagree and find that their posture is better with a "flat" (no neck angle) bass. Most mass production basses are flat, because it's cheaper and simpler to build them that way.