1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

first p-bass build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by jimuhl, May 2, 2010.

1. jimuhl

jimuhl

Sep 2, 2009
    Boring, OR
    Okay, I have been lurking here far too long, it is now time for me to build my first bass! Amatuer woodworker as a hobby, mechanical designer by profession. Play bass 3-4 times a month for our church worship band (Contemporary Christian style of music). But enough about me, on to the rest of the story:

-p-bass body
    -warmoth tele-bass neck 1-1/2" at nut
    -Schaller tuners
    -Gutoh bridge
    -SPB-3 p-ups
    -Stew-Mac p-bass wiring kit
    parts.
    The brown truck showed up -ON MY BIRTHDAY- with most of the parts, from warmoth, stew-mac and elderly instrument.
    The wood I've selected:
    -purpleheart
    -maple
    maple.
    purpleheart.
    So, hopefully by posting this thread, it will make me actually work on this build, and not let the parts sit around.

2. Subscribed! Can't wait for more.

3. mkress77

mkress77

Feb 27, 2005
    Subscribed as well.

4. F-Clef-Jef

F-Clef-Jef

Nov 13, 2006
    Neenah, WI
    So, being a mechanical designer, have you worked everything out on CAD first? Solid models????

5. jimuhl

jimuhl

Sep 2, 2009
    Boring, OR
    I've worked out most of the design in 2d Autocad from some of the available drawings and pdf files. No 3d here. Old dog, not enough new tricks.
    Thinking so far:
    -solid purpleheart down the middle from 8/4
    -chambered maple "wings" with approx. 1/4" purpleheart front and back
    -rear load electronics, no pickguard
    -tele style side mount output jack

6. Dream Weaver

Dream Weaver

Jul 11, 2009
    OH
    Curious to see more. =)

Old? Like... R10 and a digitizer?

7. jimuhl

jimuhl

Sep 2, 2009
    Boring, OR