Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

First *Paid* Gig

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by FreeSpirit, Mar 11, 2006.

1. So here is my story, I love reading other people's gig stories so I thought I would share mine for ya'll.

So I have been talking to this guy for about a few months now, and we were thinking of forming a band, we haven't got around to that yet, but his uncle plays in a bar/cover band and is a bassist. He tells me that his uncle couldn't make a gig, so would I like to play a sub? I say sure why not, thinking it will be a fun night and just some expirience, as before I have only played a few shows at local concerts for nothing. SO I get emailed a set list 10 days in advance and told there is a band practise in 2 days and they would like me to come.

So everything goes well at the band practise, they had me learn as many as possible then I just yelled out tunes at practise and we played those. A few days later the bassist and I get together alone and play to the songs we didn't play as a band, and we make sure I have got them all down.

The gig ends up being 6 hours north of where I live. It is in a town in northern Ontario called New Liskeard. The whole band(four of us) drive up in the drummers van, we get there around 7, set up and it is all good.

We played 3 sets, of varying length, and i only butchered a few tunes, maybee 5 chords were wrong out of the 30 or so songs we played. I have never felt time fly so fast, as to when I was playing. I got cheers during longview when it is just bass and drums, and also during "new orleans is sinking."

I realised how much I love playing out, and for people. It feels so cool to just have even one person come up to you between sets or after the show and even just a hand shake or a good job.