First paying Gig

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Mike88T, May 8, 2004.

1. Last night was my first gig with my band Two Men Abroad, well the first gig where we ended up with cash in our pocket. The first Gig was at my guitar players wedding last month; he wanted us to play out so how could we say no. The second gig was last Friday at his local Moose Lodge, just for fun and to get some experience in front of people. Well much to my surprise they asked us to come back last night and play again. Since we have only been together for about 6 months and I am a total amateur, when the wedding guests told us we were good I just assumed they were being polite, I mean you can’t tell the groom that his band sucks on his wedding day right. But last Friday we got applause all night and it was enthusiastic not just polite so it made me think that we might actually be good or at least not bad. It went ok but nerves caused us to drink a bit too much and the end of the second set sort of deteriorated a bit, luckily it was after midnight by then and few people witnessed this haha.