1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

First pedal purchase

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by msiner, Oct 2, 2008.

1. msiner

msiner

Sep 2, 2008
    Tucson, AZ
    In the roughly 10 years that I have played bass guitar, I have been using pretty basic gear. A passive bass and a fairly simple amp. I have been the same way with my guitar playing and prefer acoustic in that realm.

I just started playing bass in a group again. So I have considered using $100 to expand my horizons. The two products I have been looking at are:

Hartke VXL Bass Attack Preamp/DI
    Zoom B2 multi-effects pedal

Obviously these are two different beasts. The Hartke seems like a serious piece of equipment that could be used in performance, but I am wondering if it will provide much more than my amp already provides (aside from the DI, straight to mixer scenario where it would be useful). People here seem to like their Sansamps, and this is a similar device. The Zoom seems like it would be a fun toy, but not for serious use. Also, I find that I am not too interested in the "effects", that is, the stuff like wah, chorus, octaver, or synth. But the Zoom does seem to have some nice drive and EQ capabilities (the compresser seems cool, but also seems to get the most complaints).

Any opinions here?
    Are there better options out there for $100 or under? (so, not a Sansamp)
    Should I even bother?

2. SpankyPants

SpankyPants That's Mr. SpankyPants to you.

Aug 24, 2006
    Brooklyn, NY
    Buy used.

If one isn't what you think you want, sell it and buy the other.

3. Jared Lash

Jared Lash Born under punches

Aug 21, 2006
    Denver, CO
    Run Away!!
    [​IMG]

Seriously, the world of effects can be an addicting one.