Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

First Post...And Schecter...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jon In VA, May 28, 2001.

1. Jon In VA

Jon In VA

May 28, 2001
    Chesapeake, VA
    Hi,
    My name's Jon and I've been reading over the board for awhile and thought I'd intriduce myself so I could post and all. I'm 15 and I've been playing bass for about 2 years.
    I just wanted to ask what you guys think about Schecter basses. (Not Spector...Compairing them to the Scheter though) I tried out a Diamond Series (?) today. It was Neck-Thru, Red Quilt Top, Active EMG/HZs, Made in Korea, and Gold Hardware. It seemed almost like a clone of the Spector Neck-Thru for $739 range. The Schector was only $539, but it seemed almost like the same thing. What's the differance, besides the name?
    I actually prefered the Schetor, it felt like it was made sturdier. But I'd like your input.
    Thanks,
    Jon

2. CrawlingEye

CrawlingEye Member

Mar 20, 2001
    Easton, Pennsylvania
    If you like the Schecter better than the Spector go for the Schecter. They're similiar in a few areas... I believe both use EMG's (pups and preamps) although other than that... I don't see the similarities. If you're going to buy one of the, I suggest going to www.basscentral.com , www.musiciansfriend.com , www.samash.com or something like that... most local music stores have the prices raised really high. I suggest basscentral.com though... I'm dealing with them right now and they've been REALLY helpful. The only place that's really to go the extra mile for you.

3. CrawlingEye

CrawlingEye Member

Mar 20, 2001
    Easton, Pennsylvania
    Oh yeah... Welcome to TalkBass. hehe

4. Jon In VA

Jon In VA

May 28, 2001
    Chesapeake, VA