Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

First Post, hehe, need advice...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Zjarrett, Sep 18, 2000.

1. Zjarrett

Zjarrett

Sep 17, 2000
    Hey, ive been playing for about 8 months now and since some major holidays are coming up, and since i got some money ive been saving i thought hey, why not get a new bass to go with those new amps(GK=goodness)well...this is good and i think ill be able to afford about 1200 MAX so the 3 i was looking at were the ErnieBall/Musicman Stingray, Yamaha RBX760A, Ibanez something or other =P, im looking for a versatile bass since because im under 16 i havent completely chosen a genre of music to pursue and also im not very familiar with what i like yet...that being said i do love funk so something with a decent slap tone would be awesome. of the 3 above which would you recommend for me? and if not any of those do you got a suggestion that isnt fender? thanks in advance guys

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Of those three?

Stingray - no doubt about it!

3. Luis Fabara

Luis Fabara

Aug 13, 2000
    Ecuador (South America)
    Audio Pro - Ecuador
    Try Finding a Modulus Flea Bass for about $1200.
    I would try getting a 5 string. I think you will be needing that "B" string very soon.
    What kind of music do you like to hear??
    About the basses you mentioned.. I would really pick the Stingray.

4. Zjarrett

Zjarrett

Sep 17, 2000