Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

First post... problem with bass...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by metron, Sep 16, 2003.

1. metron

metron Fluffy does not agree

Sep 12, 2003
    Lakewood Colorado
    Hey everyone! Im new here and this is my first attempt at starting a thread. Im having a problem with my relatively new MM Stingray4. I have a serious string rattle thats across the entire E and A strings at every fret (its not noticible on the D and G strings). Its being amplified so I cant record with this bass. I cannot tell where it is coming from. When I put me ear next to the nut it sounds like its coming from the bridge and when I put my ear next to the brige it sounds like its coming from the nut. I like to think Im fairly knowledgable in setting up the instrument as Ive done it myself for years. I have tightened everything on the bass to make sure there are no loose screws. It is definitely not the string buzzing on the frets. I have eliminated all the simple things and I cant for the life of me tell where its coming from or how to get rid of it. I have used a few different types of strings since the problem started so that eliminates having a bad string or two. Thanks in advance for suggestions or comments!

Jon

2. jdombrow

jdombrow Supporting Member

Jan 16, 2002
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Have you taken the strings off while searching for the rattle or buzz? Is your truss rod loose (or broken)? A wire rattling against the inside of the body? Think of every component on and inside your bass, and eliminate them one at a time.