Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

First post!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by unharmed, May 29, 2003.

1. unharmed

unharmed Iron Fishes

May 19, 2003
    London, England
    Hey guys,

My TB membership just arrived so I thought I would celebrate the occasion with my first post :D

I have taken the first step in my long-suppressed (10 years) desire to learn bass.
    I have equipped myself with an instrument (pic attached) and am now in search of a teacher. I am located in Melbourne, Australia and am seeking the guidance of the TB crowd. I am a rank beginner on the bass although not to music (3 years of piano then 7 of tenor saxophone). I am interested in the more funky/jazzy styles but am really just after a solid grounding at this point. Apologies for the longish post but thanks in advance for any pointers anybody has.

Thanks again

2. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    Welcome to TB, unharmed!

I see you've gone straight for the supporting membership. Good choice! ;)

I'm into the funky/jazzy side of things myself - what bass players do you particularly like?

3. unharmed

unharmed Iron Fishes

May 19, 2003
    London, England
    Hey Moley,

Thanks for the response. Moleman is one of my favourite characters BTW. Along with Ralph Wiggum, the professor and Cletus. Anyhoo, I've been checking out the big names (Jaco, Wooten et al) that I hadn't heard of before i started browsing here :rolleyes: and like what I hear. I've been a fan of Flea's playing for ages and also Dana Carvey from Morphine (I like listening to his work but am not particularly keen to emulate it). I love the sound of Sting on fretless, also. In fact pretty much anybody on fretless :D