1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

First real rehearsal

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Dexteroth, Jan 17, 2008.

1. So here's the deal.
    I'm 18 years old and I've been playing for about 2,5 years now. I've been jamming with a real close friend (guitarist) every once and a while but we've never found a drummer to form a real band.
    Today we found one but he's 37 years old and has been playing drums since he was 9.
    Right now I'm equally excited to really be able to jam but I'm also nervous because his skill level is miles above mine.
    Anyone else ever been in this kind of situation, got any tips?

2. Don't sweat it bro. With a seasoned veteran like him, I'm sure having you around will remind him of his younger days, and that makes him happy to be jamming with the youth. Just give him respect and be willing to take cues from him. You'll learn tons of stuff by being around him. Ask him to show you some drum beats, it'll do wonders for your playing.

3. Sorta... I just joined/reformed a band which has a wide range of ages, 19-48. I was a little leery to join up with some of the younger guys at first. We jammed for the first time with our new line up last night and it was clear that the age thing is gonna be largely irrelevant.

I think you will find that you can learn a ton from someone with a lot of playing time so it's time to do your sponge impression and soak up everything you can from his years of experience.

4. BillMason

BillMason

Mar 6, 2007
    When I was 19 I was invited to join a local band made up of "40 somethings" as their bass player had to leave due to his wife's pregnancy. :) I said "giddyap!" and found it was an awesome learning experience for me, and a lot of fun.