First time bass purchase

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BulbousMoses, Jul 9, 2008.

1. Hi , I'm a noob when it comes to bass. Been playing guitar for years but I want to "come over to the dark side" as it were. I have almost no budget at the moment but I could pick up a Samick Corsair 1 to learn on. I see good things being said about the SX bass line on here but unfortunately, I wouldn't be able to try one before buying and in addition, I live in Canada so it would be a bit of a hassle if I had to return it for any reason. Can anyone comment on the Samick brand and whether it would be a decent instrument to learn on. I can pick one up new here for $170.00 CAD. If the bass was well put together, I could always upgrade the hardware and pickups eventually as a kind of "project". Happy to be a TB member!

2. I'm sure if any Samick users read this - they would have gave you they're thoughts. Really you should try out as much stuff as you can before deciding. There are many factors/choices. Personally I'm an Ibanez fan because I thrive on SR4 narrow/thin necks plus they just sound/play good.

3. GeddyisGod

GeddyisGod Four on the floor and nothing more!

Feb 4, 2004
    Moberly, MO
    Samick, like any budget brand, will be hit and miss. My local music store had a few. They were decent, not great, not poor. If you need to get your hands on something to play on the cheap and you feel that's your best option go for it.

I can say with confidence that a Samick bass would be better than no bass.:hyper:

4. Rudyboy98

Rudyboy98

Jan 25, 2008
    South Bay, CA
    Scratch the Samick and get a Squier Fender bass. They're a heck of a lot better! I remember getting my first Samick 5 string and turned around and got a Washburn 5 string. The Washburn wasn't the best...but it was better than that Samick!

5. I've also been looking at the Yamaha BB414 which is selling for $399.00. It appears to be a great bass for the money although I haven't tried one yet.