First Time Home Recording

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by JaminDyer, Jul 25, 2013.

1. JaminDyer

JaminDyer

Jul 25, 2013
    Liverpool
    Hello,

I'm fairly new to bass, been self teaching myself for aprox. 2 years, and recently have been asked to help a friend out by recording a couple of basslines for her.

I have tried reading the FAQ and numerous searches on how to record, but it just isn't working very well.

The equipment I have includes:

-Sterling SUB bass (Active pick ups)
    -TC Electronic BH250
    -ACER Aspire 5742

I have tried connecting the head to my laptop using an AUX cable from the headphone output into the mic input on the laptop. Even with the master volume turned right down, the sound quality was pretty bad. As the bass has active pickups, I tried playing the bass straight into the laptop, but getting a similar response.

Is the problem with my laptop, or do i need another device to send the signal through?

Sorry if you see these threads a lot, but I'm getting confused with other answers people have got :S

If you need any other information, let me know.

Thanks for any help!

Ben

2. jmain

jmain Oo, Uhn't uh, Yes! Supporting Member

Apr 23, 2005
    Alexandria, VA
    My first reaction is to say: Get a cheap audio interface and use a free software like reaper to go the budget route.

Bass alone into the laptop won't work. Don't think line level out of the amp straight to laptop is good either. Onboard sound card may be okay for what you want and do the trick, but still need some sort of recording software.

A couple questions to help get you going in the right direction.

Format: Does your friend need a certain format? Is she using a certain software or taking this to a studio?

Sound Quality: What's the end goal / product? (final songs, practice over, scratch...)

Future: Is this one-off, will she need more in the future, or do you have an interest in recording more?

3. JaminDyer

JaminDyer

Jul 25, 2013