First time playing with other people?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by DNE, Apr 2, 2003.

1. DNE

Feb 27, 2003
    I am curious as to how long after first picking up the bass TBers first played with other people.

I first touched a bass three months ago and played with some friends (drummer and two guys playing guitars) last weekend. What a great feeling! I stuck to playing roots of each chord but was pretty amazed at how we sounded together (not horrible- a good standard to set in the beginning).

How 'bout you folks?
  2. thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
  3. Ditto. Bought my first bass (a Peavey Fury) and jammed with some friends at school. I didn't know what I was doing, but it was still fun.
  4. cheeseman

Feb 3, 2002
    Austin, TX
    Same Here. I started playing bass because some friends asked me to, and they already had equipment I could use.
  5. vegaas

Nov 6, 2001
    Bought a bass because my friend could play fade to black on his guitar. Bought the bass, he came over and that is how I started.
  6. Heh, First time I played with other people I played with lets see here... over 60 people. I started bass because I was playing Trumpet in Marching band but I was really struggling along with it and the Band teacher suggested that I start Bass because the band needs a bass player. I got a bass later that day, a 4 string Ibanez, came to the next practice not really knowing what I was doing, but I was taking lessons and by the end of the MB season I was pretty good at it. How about all of your first time playing in front of other people, I had to play in front of 200 people my first time lol. Then at the end of the season I played a tournament at Mile Hi Stadium with over 1000 people watching me :eek: beat that for only your first year playing
  7. CS

Dec 11, 1999