1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

first time recording - rubbish tone!

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Evolmonster, Apr 24, 2009.

1. Evolmonster

Evolmonster

Dec 1, 2008
    Hiya gang

It's my first time recording, and we had our first session last night over my mates house (home recording studio).
    We laid down the guide tracks, and I was told to plug straight into the desk.
    Listening back through headphones, the bass was totally flat. No bottom, no highs. It sounded rubbish.
    But it's only a guide track, so no worries. But, the recording guy said we'll do the same when I'm recording proper, bass plugged straight into the mixer!
    He assures me we can play with the sound on the desk. Something don't feel right though.
    Is this a normal way to do things?

Cheers!
    Db

2. sir juice

sir juice

Sep 11, 2006
    London, England
    Where you using any kind of DI box?

Am unbuffered tone going straight into a desk will rarely sound good.

Does your amp have a line-out or something similar? you could easily use that as a DI.

Also, it's worth mentioning that your experience will differ significantly in hearing low frequencies through headphones and speakers. What headphones can't do is reproduce the feel of the low notes, regardless of their frequency response. It's that kind of tingling of the body that really makes us percieve a bass as sound fat. Try listening to it on some proper moniters.

And don't underestimate the power of amp modelling. What software are you using, the stock bass amp plugins in programs such as Logic can really fatten up the sound when mixing.

Hope this helps.

3. Evolmonster

Evolmonster

Dec 1, 2008
    We didnt use a DI box. just from my bass, straight into the mixer.