Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

First Upright Suggestions

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Larry99, Sep 29, 2005.

1. Larry99

Larry99

Aug 17, 2005
    Philadelphia, PA
    Hello all,
    I've been thinking about purchasing and learning to play an upright (I've been playing electric for 20+ years). Any suggestions on what to buy? Nothing fancy but nice enought to want to play it. Besides size, what are the basic differences between full scale and 3/4? Guess I'm leaning toward 3/4. I'm thinking somthing used in the vicinity of $600-1000 (man these uprights can get expensive!!!).

Any sources, on line and otherwise would also be appreciated.

2. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    Check out the newbie links on this forum first. Then do a search of this forum. There's a ton a information available.

Then you have to decide on a budget.

3. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.
    Wanna see expensive, stick around, sit back, fasten your seat belt, and enjoy the ride.. Oh, and be prepared for an occassional shock or two.. lol

PS: Don't forget about the Bow! They run from about $100. to 15k.

4. Bob Rogers

Bob Rogers Left is Right

Feb 26, 2005
    Blacksburg, Virginia