Five string - or Four???

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Superfrappe, Sep 12, 2002.

1. HI guys... I have a sincere question here...

I've been playing an assortment of four string basses for over 7 years now. Recently I joined a band w/ a guitarist that plays all the tunes in dropped-D. :rolleyes:

Never have I played in dropped-D, and I"m really not too crazy about starting now. I've always played either in standard tuning, or tuned ALL my strings down, so that all the strings were only down a 1/2 step, full step, etc...

My question is: Should I just suck it up and adjust to playing in dropped-D? Or, should I invest in a five string bass, and just play the D off the B string?

I'm actually looking to buy a new bass within 2 weeks. So I need to decide whether to get a four or five string. Like I said - I've always played four strings, yet have thought about getting a five string from time to time...

Thanks in advance for your comments.

---> by the way, if anyone is interested in an '83 black colored Rickenbacker 4001 4-string... email me at:
  2. lamarjones

lamarjones Supporting Member

Aug 27, 2002
    Raleigh, NC
    My personal experience.....

I got four things going right now.

2 are in standard

1 is standard, and also tunes down a half step

1 is always down a halft step, and also goes drop d.

Since I am veryconfortable with my five string, I don't ever have to change a thing. That's not to say that sometimes it gets confusing, but it is not a big deal.

What would be a big deal is if I had to switch to drop d, and then go back, and whatever. Gets on my nerves enough when guitarsit take 3 minutes to switch their tuning, 5 minutes to switch guitar because they realize it right when the song is suppossed to start......
  3. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member