1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fixing up my first bass - Squier P

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Phil Mailloux, Sep 5, 2008.

1. Phil Mailloux

Phil Mailloux

Mar 25, 2005
    Brisbane, Australia
    Builder: Mailloux Basses
    I’ve been seriously slack with my practicing in the last couple of years. I miss playing a 4 string big time. So I decided to fix up my first bass in the hopes I pick it up more often to practice. :D

This is my first bass. I bought it around ’96 in a used shop.I was a guitarist before that. It was supposed to be an early 90’s Japan Squier but a few things on it have obviously been switched, it wasn’t the original body or tuners when I got it. The neck was also crap and the action was really high. It was not a nice bass to play at all.

About a year ago I decided to pull out the fretboard and fix the neck problem, I discovered a build-up of wood under the f’board and shaved it away. At the same time I made a new bone nut and shaved the sides of the neck to give it a Jazz bass width as I don’t like P-bass width. Here’s the original thread showing what I did

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=302029&

The final result wasn’t that great as the truss rod was shot anyway. It wasn’t that bad but the action was still higher than what I prefer to have so never used it much after that. So a couple of days ago I decided to fix it for good and get a decent playing instrument.