1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Flats here... Rounds there...

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by MoeTown1986, Mar 14, 2013.

1. MoeTown1986

MoeTown1986 Supporting Member

Sep 14, 2010
    SoMD (Mechanicsville)
    Sooo, I'm new to the flat wound world. I'm an owner of a Stingray 5, Ray 35, Standard P, and a '51 RI. My first set of flats were chromes I put on my standard P. loved em! Shortly after I bought a set for my '51. Loved em! Figured, what the heck, and ordered a 5 string set for my stingray... Not so much love. I run cobalts on my stingray 5 and ray35 and love the way they sound and figured I'd dig flats as well. But every time I switch them back out, I end up with my cobalts back on in about 30 minutes.

Anyone else absolutely love flats on a certain bass and hate them on another?

2. Rip Topaz

Rip Topaz

Aug 12, 2005
    Willow Street, PA
    Beta tester for Positive Grid
    Oh, absolutely. I think every bass has a preference of what string work best.

Yeah, yeah, that's crazy talk and all, but it's true. Certain basses sound best with certain strings, even different basses of the same model.

Go with it.

3. MoeTown1986

Sep 14, 2010
    SoMD (Mechanicsville)
    I just had to make sure I wasn't the only guy who thought that. I know some dudes who like rounds only, and some who like flats only. But I can't do either! Gotta have both! Haha

4. jetbike

jetbike

Apr 2, 2011
    Sydney, 'Straya
    I get the impression that flats work for some basses and not others. The archetypal flats bass seems to be the P and derivatives of the P. I reckon flats would be awesome on any semi-solid bass too.

I firmly put Jazz Basses and MM basses (all of them) into the zingy-twangy school, that lends itself to rounds.