1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Flats on a 5 string Active bass?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Aussie Player, Jun 10, 2011.

1. Aussie Player

Aussie Player

Apr 20, 2011
    Would, or have any any of you put flats on an Active 5 string bass?

I usually put flats or semi-flats on passive basses and round wound on active basses but I wondered if that nice thick sound would work on an active 5?

2. Flatwound

Flatwound Supporting Member

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego
    Most assuredly. I have used TI flats on an MTD Beast, and am currently using flats on a Douglas active sixer. I really like how they work with actives. I also tried GHS Precision flats on a (four-string) Stingray a few years back, and thought they sounded great.

3. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.
    I played a fretless F-bass strung with tapewounds at NAMM last January, it sounded fantastic. Without comparing it to a roundwound strung instrument I can't tell if it's an improvement or not, but it sounded good enough to me that I'll probably string my own active fretless with flats next time I get new strings.

I'd love to hear soundclips of other people's active basses with flats, if possible. Most of my basses are active, and I've been curious about flats for a while now.

4. I use TI Jazz Flats on my Cirrrus five and love the sound and feel. Widens the range of available tones.

5. well, I have a Schecter Custom 4 (active pre) with LaBella FS760... THUNDER!

6. RedElefant

RedElefant

Feb 20, 2011
    Birmingham, AL
    just put my first set of flats on a 4 string MIA P Deluxe and they sing!

7. fourfinger

fourfinger Gold Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2003
    Central Ohio